This Should Be Called A Semi-Manifesto, No?

How many people noticed I changed the look of the blog? Anybody? Yayyyy, I see a hand back there! Hiiiiii! *In Jenifa’s voice* ‘How is you?’ Good, good!

When I first decided to start blogging, I wasn’t really sure what direction I wanted the blog to go. I only knew what I loved to write and speak about, and what I wanted my readers to feel – more knowledgeable, entertained, but mostly inspired. For the longest time, I postponed starting a blogβ€”I spent almost three years procrastinating. I was afraid of getting stuck and running out of things to write about. As a matter of fact, in 2014, I opened a WordPress account but only wrote as far as the introductory post. Please don’t laugh.

I decided to try again in November of last year. I did my research and asked questions, but when I started, I realised that, omo, I didn’t ask enough questions! So now, after better research and a ton of Etisalat data later, my vision for the blog is much clearer; not fully so, but certainly clearer than before. I want to take this much more seriously. I know it might not make sense that I’m saying all these after already being a blogger for two months. Ha! It’s out there, people. I’m a blogger! Say whaaaaattt?!! *dance break* Anyway, back to what I was sayingβ€”it might not make sense, my saying this now. I’m not even sure why I feel the need to share but I guess that’s one essence of a blogβ€”a public online journal to document thoughts and lessons learned while doing this thing called living, innit?

Also, I think I’ve been putting so much pressure on myself to always write overly thought-out posts like the ones I’ve previously published here (if you’ve not read them, you’re sleeping on a moving train mehn!). So, my plan now is not to deviate too far from my main niche (lifestyle and inspiration), but also to add other sprinkles of goodness here and there. For your benefit, of course. Always.

Peace out and keezzeezz,
Oma.

7 thoughts on “This Should Be Called A Semi-Manifesto, No?

  1. well i love blogging and i didn’t do as much research, but right now i think its going fine. i just started this year and sometimes I have to encourage myself everyday to keep writing

    Like

    1. Hellooo. I’m a little bit of a perfectionist, hence my need to research and research some more. I get what you mean about encouraging yourself to write everyday. Creating content sometimes isn’t easy but I’ve found that I do my best writing when I don’t put too much pressure on myself or obsess over what to write about. Inspiration isn’t a problem for me anymore because nowadays, I find inspiration in the most mundane things. Lol. Good luck! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey Oma, a blog is such a journey, especialy when you want to start taking it seriously. Sometimes I wish I had been more clued up as to the online marketing/SEO etc piece of the puzzle when I had started…congrats on changing the design and being more sure on which direction you want to go. Looking forward to reading more of your posts ( :

    Like

    1. Hey beautiful lady with the beautiful TWA πŸ˜€ Blogging IS such a journey and I had no idea! Goodness! I just thought ‘have great content and you’re good to go’. Not so at all! You know what? Right now, every time I come across ‘SEO’ my heart skips a beat! LOL! Thank you so much for visiting. I hope to see you more often, xx.

      Like

  3. I started last year, but my meticulous self can’t find the perfect content to write with precision and perfection. I’m almost always having a writer’s block.
    Thanks for this piece, I’ll keep coming back for more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

